Focusing My Energies

How quickly I lost my focus! I received a comment on a blog (from Lorna Costantini) that I wrote about parent engagement, which at the time of writing it I felt completely inspired to make a difference in our school. Try to shift the focus from fundraising (which we still need to do in our schools) to more conversations on engaging parents in their childs education. Although fundraising is crucial in schools our childrens education should be a higher priority. I am fortunate enough that our school is very open to hearing from parents, we have the opportunity to have the relationships required to have that open communication.
Lorna asked what I was doing to be engaged in my childs education, and thats when I realized i had lost my focus, with a very busy household and the amount I do volunteer at the school I have to take a step back and put some time into thinking about how I am going to further engage myself in my childs learning. I definitely feel like I am on the right track, first is to educate myself, our principal(@gcouros) has made it very easy. He has encouraged the use of twitter, networking and blogging. He has shared his vision for our school which has opened the lines of communication. I know that my opinion is valued which makes me feel comfortable voicing my opinions at the Parent Council Meetings and sharing my opinions with other parents that can not attend the meetings.
I am currently co-ordinator of our school hot lunch program (which can be time consuming), I am part of the fundraising committee and I am the secretary for the Parent Council. I attend the asssemblies at the school and participate in some classroom activities and field trips. I have 2 children at school and 2 year old twins at home and most days feel stretched pretty thin. I have felt that my passion has been misplaced, although I enjoy volunteering and the school always needs volunteers I need to redirect some of my energies and try to have more involvement in where the school is headed. I have 12 more years to invest in our elementary school and want to be part of making it into a top notch school!
I feel the most important thing I can do at this point is to continue educating myself and connecting with educators, encourage my children to connect and collaborate with their peers and share what we are all learning.
I am grateful for Lorna’s comment because it has reminded me to be engaged in my childrens education.. I am looking forward to the journey. Thanks Lorna Costantini!

  1. #1 by Lorna Costantini on November 14, 2010 - 5:08 pm

    You are welcome Promoms4. You are very gracious to make your comments and it is affirming when you have taken a step back and examined your involvement/engagement in you child’s learning. George and Penny play an equally important role in stirring up the pot on how parents can interact with schools and in challenging your thinking.

    Please continue to share your experiences. You are in my feedreader so I can keep in touch.

  2. #2 by Clay Boggess on November 15, 2010 - 4:08 pm

    Schools need more caring parents that seem as well thought out as you are. Finding ways to increase parental involvement in their child’s school is going to be a vital piece to the ongoing educational reform movement. We seem to be so focused these days on things like school curriculum, standardized testing and school district budgets, and while these issues are important, what’s really going to make a difference in our schools is parental involvement. Keep up the great work.

    • #3 by promom4 on November 16, 2010 - 1:11 am

      Thank you for the comment, its greatly appreciated. I have learned a great deal and feel I have just touched the tip of the iceberg.

Leave a Reply

